External Graduate Awards

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS)

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) program is designed to attract and retain world-class doctoral students by offering them a significant financial award to assist them during their studies at Canadian universities. Vanier Scholars demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in the social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering, and health-related fields. Canadian and international students are eligible to be nominated for a Vanier Scholarship, which is valued at $50,000 per year for up to three years. The Vanier CGS program reaffirms Canada as a global centre of excellence in research and education. All applicants must be nominated by their department and university.

Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) Doctoral Research Awards

Doctoral Research Awards are intended to provide special recognition and support to students who are pursuing a PhD degree in a health-related field in Canada or abroad. These candidates are expected to have an exceptionally high potential for future research achievement and productivity.

The top ranked Doctoral Research Award (DRA) applicants pursuing doctoral research training in Canada may be eligible for a Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) Doctoral Award. Candidates interested in a CGS Doctoral Award must apply for a DRA; all DRA candidates will be automatically considered for a CGS based on the eligibility requirements and ranking in the DRA competition.

CIHR/NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarships Masters Awards (CGSM)

The Canada Graduate Scholarships Master's Awards administered are intended to provide special recognition and support to students who are pursuing a Master's degree in a health or science related field in Canada. These candidates are expected to have an exceptionally high potential for future achievement and productivity.


National Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) - Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) and Postgraduate Scholarships (PGS)

Canada Graduate Scholarships and NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships provide financial support to high-calibre scholars who are engaged in doctoral programs in the natural sciences or engineering. The Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) will be offered to the top-ranked applicants, and the next tier of meritorious applicants will be offered an NSERC Postgraduate Scholarship (PGS).

NSERC Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships (IPS)

NSERC's IPS allow graduate students in natural sciences and engineering to gain valuable research experience in an industrial setting while completing their graduate degree. Students do most of their research on campus, but also spend at least 20 per cent of their time working at a company on research related to their thesis.

Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSFC) Doctoral Research Awards

The HSFC Doctoral Research Award program will not be offered for the 2012/2013 funding year. Current award recipients will continue to be supported until the end of their term; no new applications will be accepted in the fall open competition.

Doctoral Research Awards will still be funded through the partnered research programs Focus on Stroke and Jump Start Resuscitation. These Awards are available to highly qualified graduate students enrolled in a PhD program who are undertaking full-time research training in the cardiovascular or cerebrovascular fields. Applications to the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada are due annually on November 1 to be tenable July 1 of the following year.

National Cancer Institute of Canada (NCIC) Research Studentships

The National Cancer Institute of Canada offers a limited number of Research Studentships (supported by The Terry Fox Foundation and the Canadian Cancer Society) to outstanding PhD students who plan a career in cancer research in Canada. At the time of application, applicants must be residents of Canada, engaged in a full-time PhD program at a Canadian institution, and have completed at least two years of research training at the graduate level or have equivalent research experience. 
www.cancer.ca/research/Grants and Awards/Ongoing funding/Studentship.aspx?sc_lang=en

Ontario Women's Health Scholars Award

Funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, a Scholar Awards Program in Women's Health has been established to ensure that Ontario attracts and retains pre-eminent women's health scholars. The community of women's health scholars fostered by this Awards program will excel, according to internationally accepted standards of scientific excellence, in the creation of new knowledge about women's health and its translation into improved health for women, more effective health services and products for women, and a strengthened heath care system.

For applications, eligibility information and award deadline please visit the OCGS website: http://cou.on.ca/about/chairs-and-awards/ontario-womens-health-scholars-awards

Ontario Trillium Scholarship Program for International PhD Students

The Ontario Trillium Scholarships (OTS) program is an entrance award for the best qualified international students to Ontario for PhD studies. The University of Toronto will have approximately 15 awards to distribute annually. Each OTS is valued at $40,000 per year, and is renewable for up to four years. OTS applicants must meet Departmental admissions requirements, and must be nominated by the LMP Department.

International (visa) applicants who complete their graduate program application by the early deadline of February 1st will be considered for this scholarship.

For information see the SGS website:

Governor General's Gold Medal

The Governor General's office annually awards Governor General's Gold Medals to honour academic excellence at the graduate level. At U of T, three medals are available - one medal is awarded to a candidate graduating from Division I or II, one medal is awarded to a candidate from Division III or IV and one medal is awarded to the runner-up from any Division.

Medals are presented on behalf of the Governor General by the participating educational institutions, along with a personalized certificate signed by the Governor General. Students do not receive any monetary award.