Latest News at LMP

2013 BioArt Image Competition Winner

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that Postdoctoral Fellow Rosalind Silverman (PhD) and Professor Michelle Bendeck (BSc, PhD) have won the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology’...

Read More
2013 Postgraduate Research Awards

Congratulations to Transfusion Medicine Resident Asim Alam (BSc, MD, FRCPC) and Hematological Pathology Resident Hubert Tsui (MD, PhD) for winning Postgraduate Research Awards from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Medicine. The purpose of...

Read More
Professor Jason Fish

It takes only 20 seconds for your blood to circulate through approximately 60,000 miles of blood vessels made up of veins and arteries. But how is this complex and intricate system formed? And what defines whether a blood vessel will become a...

Read More
Professors Richard Hegele, Simon Raphael and Shachar Sade.

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Shachar Sade (MD, MSc, FRCPC) as the new Program Director, Anatomical Pathology Residency Program and Director of Postgraduate Education in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and...

Read More
Professor Eleftherios Diamandis

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology 
(LMP) is pleased to announce that Professor Eleftherios Diamandis (MD, PhD, FRCPC, FRSC) has been awarded the 2013 Carl R. Jolliff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Clinical or...

Read More
Professor Jagdish Butany

Congratulations to the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) Professor Jagdish Butany for receiving the 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award from the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology (SCVP).

This award recognizes...

Read More
Professor James Rutka

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that Professor James Rutka (MD, PhD, FRCSC, FACS, FAAP) has been awarded the Dr. Charles B. Wilson Award from the American Association of Neurological Surgeons/...

Read More
Professor Kandel

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) congratulates Professor Rita Kandel (MD, FRCPC) on her appointment as Director of the Graduate Collaborative Program in Musculoskeletal Sciences (CPMS) at the Toronto ...

Read More
Faculty volleyball team

By Mark Wan (MSc)

While LMP’s faculty have always been engaged in student development and research, last Thursday, June 20, the faculty confronted the students with something a little different: a “friendly” volleyball...

Read More
Eric Morgen, LMP PGY 5 Anatomical Pathology Resident

Congratulations to Eric Morgen (HBSc, MD) for winning the Donald W. Penner Prize for best poster presentation at the 64th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association of Pathologists (CAP). This award was established by CAP in 1977 to...

Read More
LMP Annual Banquet 2013

On Thursday, June 6, 2013, the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) faculty, staff and students gathered to celebrate the past year’s impressive accomplishments. Department members had a chance to mingle and reconnect at...

Read More
Senior Academic Appointments 2013

Richard G. Hegele, MD, FRCPC, PhD
It is with great pride that we congratulate the nine individuals (four Professors and five Associate Professors) who received approval from the Provost for promotion effective July 1, 2013...

Read More
Richard G. Hegele, MD, FRCPC, PhD Professor & Chair

Your hard work, perseverance and commitment have paid off. LMP takes great pride in offering challenging programs to make you well prepared for the future. I sincerely hope you will look back fondly at your time in LMP, and please stay in touch...

Read More
Professor Michael Pollanen

On Thursday, May 23, 2013, over 120 medical and investigative specialists gathered at the University of Toronto for the highly successful workshop on Advancements in the Modern Autopsy. Participants enjoyed a wide variety of topics...

Read More

Congratulations to LMP’s summer research students Bryce Chen, Cindy Ma and Erika Scott for winning University of Toronto Excellence Awards in Natural Sciences and Engineering. These prestigious awards are presented by the Natural Sciences and...

Read More
Meghan Feeney and Shaan Gupta speak about the hidden world of bacteria.

“Bacteria are on your feet, in your mouth and in your nose. There are good bacteria and bad bacteria and they’re everywhere!” exclaimed eight-year-old Justice Iyare at the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) Science...

Read More
Professor Avrum Gotlieb

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that LMP’s former Chair and current Professor, Avrum Gotlieb (BSc, MDCM, FRCPC), has won the highly prestigious Distinguished Service Award from the Association of...

Read More
Participants enjoy LMP's 2013 Postgraduate Research Day.

“It is our belief, in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP), that research should not be a single-day event per year but rather an integral component of our training program,” says Professor George Yousef (MD, PhD, FRCPC,...

Read More
2013 Education Achievement Celebration

We are proud to announce that Professors Eleanor Latta (MSc, MD, FRCPC) and Simon Raphael (MD, FRCPC) will be recognized for their outstanding accomplishments at the upcoming Faculty of Medicine’s Annual Education Achievement Celebration.

... Read More
Jasmine Song

We are proud to announce that fourth-year undergraduate Pathobiology Specialist Program student, Jasmine Song, is the recipient of the 2013 Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award. Presented by the University of Toronto Alumni Association and the...

Read More