Celebrating Research Success at the 2016 LMP Graduate Research Conference

Monday, May 09, 2016
Attendees at the 2016 LMP Graduate Research Conference
Attendees at the 2016 LMP Graduate Research Conference

The 19th Annual LMP Graduate Research Conference (GRC) was held on April 13, 2016 and proved to be another scientific and social success thanks to the outstanding leadership of the CLAMPS organizers, the excellent scholarly abstracts and 101 poster presentations. Thirty faculty members and seven senior graduate students served as poster judges.

Dr Stephen Scherer presented the Plenary Lecture on “Genomes and autism and more genomes”.

Concurrent symposia talks were held on Genome Editing; Bioinformatics and Cancer Research; and Disease Modeling and included LMP Faculty Drs Adam Shlien, Philip Marsden, JoAnne McLaurin and Michael Laflamme, followed by a faculty/student networking lunch.   

This year’s GRC Poster Prizes were handed out at the Awards Reception:

1st Place MSc 1st Place PhD 2nd Place MSc 2nd Place PhD
Nathaniel Anderson Mariusz Shrestha Maurice Pasternak Monique Budani
Patricia Gali Marsel Lino Harsh Desai Sonam Dubey
Venuja Sriretnakumar Josh Abraham Christopher Morrone John Lee
Jillian Macklin Maddie Lynch Angela Celebre Richard Wu
Matthew Zatzman Kevin Barker Katarina Andrejevic Zeinab Noroozian
  Ivette Valencia-Sama   Michael Norris
  Ashley Weiss   Scott Ryall
  Mushriq Al-Jazrawe   Carlyn Figueiredo
  Madonna Peter   Sofia Farkona

New this year, was the "3M" Thesis Competition adapted from the Three Minute Thesis founded by the University of Queensland. The winners were: 1st place: Jennifer Taher and 2nd place: Danielle Weber-Adrian.

Click Here to See Photos