Retirees 2021

We never like to see our people go, but after long years of service and dedication to their field, we celebrate the retirement of some of our faculty.

You can view a full list of our Professors Emeriti.

We celebrated our retirees as part of our LMP Celebration of Excellence 2021.

Professor Emeritus​

Richard Hegele

Richard Hegele

Dr. Richard Hegele is a Staff Pathologist at SickKids and an internationally known researcher in the areas of viral and inflammatory lung diseases.

He served as Chief of the Department of Paediatric Laboratory Medicine at SickKids from 2011 to 2016. He was appointed to LMP 13 years ago and since then he has made valuable contributions to advancing the academic mission of U of T.

From 2009 to 2015, he served as Professor and Chair of LMP, and since 2016, he has served as Vice-Dean, Research and Innovation in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine and was awarded the LMP distinguished service award this year.

Associate Professor Emeritus​

Scott Boerner

Dr. Scott Boerner has served LMP for 27 years and was awarded the LMP Leadership award at this years' Celebration of Excellence.

He is the Division Director of Cytopathology at UHN and is celebrated for his achievements in the research of breast, lung, and thyroid cancers and the histopathology and molecular profiling of cancer tissues.

He is a dedicated educator and received the 2020 LMP Clinical Teaching Award in Medical Education, and the 2005 and 2012 Danny Ghazarian Resident Teaching Award. His work was recognized by the American Society of Cytopathology with the 2012 Geno Saccomanno, MD New Frontiers in Cytology Award.

Vladimir Iakovlev

Vladimir Iakovlev

Prior to his retirement, Dr. Vladimir Iakovlev, served as the Director of Cytopathology at St. Michael’s Hospital.

He was the first to describe the effects of implantable synthetic meshes in the human body. His pivotal findings helped changed medical practice and influenced government health regulations nationally and internationally.

He was appointed in LMP for 13 years where he was active in all levels of teaching from undergraduate and postgraduate medical education to continuing medical education.